Alternative Education Recognition 2019

Alternative Education Recognizes 19 Graduating Seniors
Posted on 06/10/2019

MOBOCES celebrated the successes of 19 seniors on Monday who will be graduating from high school this month. The graduation candidates, part of the Alternative Education High School, represent seven school districts.

Board president Suzanne Carvelli welcomed students and families to the ceremony, and senior Nakyiah Shaw from Rome led the Pledge of Allegiance. Principals Owen Maranville and Tonia Davis and Alternative and Special Education Director Jim Weaver offered additional remarks.

District Superintendent Jackie Starks said she was impressed that everyone in this class has either college or employment plans. “That’s quite an accomplishment,” she said.

In addition, teachers and administrators recognized a number of students in grades 9-12 for their outstanding achievements in academic subjects during the year and presented a number of special awards and scholarships.

Two new awards were presented this year:

The Max Schoeneck Memorial Award is named for an Alternative Education senior from Oneida who passed away unexpectedly in December. The award recognizes a student who overcame struggles in life to work toward graduation and had a strong belief in CTE, which helped Max find success in school.

The Dream Big Award is for students who demonstrate leadership ability, excellent work ethic, enthusiasm for moving on to the next stage of life and have postsecondary plans for college, employment or trade school.

alt ed grads

This year’s graduation candidates are:

Camden: Jordanne Charland, Zackery Klering

Canastota: Christina Campbell, Devin Clemens

East Syracuse-Minoa: Tony Ruzzo

Oneida: Tucker Brown, Alex Close, Lauryn Faniglula

Rome: Ethan Adsit, Damion Babcock, Michael Butler, Miajanai Covington, Tylor Donovan, Mateo Irizarry, Nakyiah Shaw, Evan Smith, Trevon Watkins

Stockbridge Valley: Elijah Bandera

Utica: Nathaly Agramonte


This year's award winners are:

High Academic Achievement: Brian Saxe (Rome), 9th grade; Nolan Riley (Canastota), 10th grade; Gavin Becraft (Oneida), 11th grade; Nakyiah Shaw (Rome), 12th grade

Attendance Award: Pedro Garcia (Rome)

Most Improved: Ryan Wyant (Oneida), Dylan Robbins (Rome)

Most Likely to Succeed: Mariah Saxe (Rome), Brianne Gray (Whitesboro)

Jake Curtis Award: Tucker Brown (Oneida)

Josh Thompson Award: Tylor Donovan (Rome)

Max Schoeneck Memorial Award: Devin Clemens (Canastota)

Student Leadership: Pedro Garcia (Rome), Zackery Klering (Camden)

Madison-Oneida BOCES Teachers Association Award of Excellence: Lauryn Faniglula (Oneida), Zackery Klering (Camden)

Citizenship Award: James Shaughnessy (Camden), Nathaly Agramonte (Utica)

Mary Jo Hojohn Career and College Ready Readiness Award: Miajanai Covington (Rome)

Student of the Year: Brian Saxe (Rome), CJ McQuaid (Canastota)

The Dream Big Award: Jordanne Charland (Camden), Tony Ruzzo (East Syracuse-Minoa)