2024 CTE Senior Awards

MOBOCES Holds 2024 CTE Senior Awards
Posted on 06/06/2024

On Thursday, June 6th, Madison-Oneida BOCES celebrated the achievements of 37 exceptional seniors from its Career and Technical Education programs as it held its 2024 CTE Senior Awards Ceremony in the Rossetti Education Center Courtyard.

The 37 honorees came from nine schools located across the Madison-Oneida BOCES region including Rome Free Academy, Camden, Canastota, Madison, Oneida, Stockbridge Valley, Vernon Verona Sherrill, Hamilton, and the New York State School for the Deaf. The students are enrolled across 16 different CTE programs offered by MOBOCES. Rome’s Israel Peterson and Madison’s Maxwell Sykes had the distinction of being two-time award winners during the ceremony.

Through the generosity of staff, community members, and civic organizations in the MOBOCES region, 39 awards were distributed with an approximate value of $8,700. These awards included scholarships, cash to defray career or educational expenses, and supplies to enter the workforce or trade school.

Congratulations to the following recipients!

Rome College Foundation Charles Beeching Award for CTE,  Sponsored by Revere Copper
Israel Peterson, Rome - Automotive Collision Repair
Evan Catello, Rome - Manufacturing Technology

RT Federal Credit Union "People Helping People" Award
Wendy Kierpiec, Camden - Equine and Animal Science
Austin Gilkinson, Canastota - Graphic Design Technology
Olivia Crane, Madison - New Visions Advanced Health Science
Demetrius Gadwaw, Rome - Graphic Design Technology
Ellyza Minicozzi, Rome - New Visions Professions
Ethan Schmitt, Oneida - Allied Health Partnership
Austin Zaleski, Stockbridge Valley - IT Systems/Cisco Networking
Declan McNamara, VVS - IT Systems/Cisco Networking

Local Advisory Council Award
Nicole Aumell, Canastota - Allied Health Partnership

MOBTA President’s Award of Excellence
Parker Rice, Hamilton - IT Systems/Cisco Networking

BOCES Education Foundation Scholarship: CTE 

Kylie Watts, VVS - Cosmetology
Gabrielle Tyler, Canastota - Graphic Design

Mary Maitland Memorial Scholarship
Malaysia Thomas, Rome - Equine and Animal Science

Richard Engelbrecht Entrepreneurial Award
Avery Austerman, Canastota - New Visions Professions

Dave Hagadorn Memorial Award
Ethan Fromey, Oneida - Automotive Technology

Tappet Twirlers Automotive Club Scholarship
Mary Beecher, Stockbridge Valley - Automotive Collision Repair
Andrew Haddad, Canastota - Automotive Technology

Cosmetology Professional Development Award
Lauren Zehr, Madison - Cosmetology
Ty Hatzinger, Camden - Cosmetology

David Phelps Memorial Award
Randy Schenandoah, Oneida - IT Systems/Cisco Networking

Sue and Lyle Pelton Memorial Award
Mia Panasci, Rome - Health Related Careers

Nola Vrooman Nursing Recognition Award
Kathryn Ackerman, Canastota - New Visions Advanced Health Science

Richard Riedel Award for CTE
Israel Peterson, Rome - Automotive Collision Repair

Conservation Club Scholarship Award
Colton Rocker, Camden - Conservation
Maxwell Sykes, Madison - Conservation
Cameryn Theilmann, Rome - Conservation
Charles Jordan, Madison - Conservation
Vanessa Foster, Camden - Conservation

Culinary Industry Excellence Award, Sponsored by Flihan’s
Bradley Reader, Camden - Culinary Arts
Dominic Fellows, Oneida - Advanced Culinary Experience
Hayden Klahs, VVS - Culinary Arts

CTE Values Award
Sierra Bush, Camden - Equine and Animal Science
Hannah Tien, Rome - Cosmetology
Maxwell Sykes, Madison - Conservation

Philip S. McDonald Rome PBA Criminal Justice Scholarship 

Nathan Drake, Rome - Criminal Justice

Patricia Walsh McCorduck Memorial Award for ECE
Anvita Corron, NYSSD - Early Childhood Education
Lilliyan Yerdon, VVS - Early Childhood Education

See more pictures on our Facebook Page!